It is possible to make an object or avatar “invisible” - for you only. It is useful in many situations, such as photography, for example, if an object is in your view and you do not wish it in the picture.

NOTE: There is a tutorial video on this topic here.

Blacklisting

This is permanent derender; it will survive teleports and relogging. For more information, see the Asset Blacklist.

  • To derender an object: Right click it and select Derender → Blacklist from the menu.
  • To rerender an object:
    • From the top menu bar, select World → Asset Blacklist. Find the item you wish to remove, click it to highlight it, then click the Remove selected items from blacklist button.
    • You will then need to force a view refresh: TP out and back OR relog. Changing your active group may also work.

Temporary

Temporary derendering will last until a view change is forced in some way.

  • To derender an object: Right click it and select Derender → Temporary from the menu.
  • To rerender an object: Simply teleport out of the region, wait a minute or two for your viewer's memory to clear, and then tp back; or relog. Changing your active group may also work.

Note that in PreferencesMove & View -> View, there is Re-render temporary derendered objects after teleport, which controls whether temporarily derendered objects will re-render after TP or not until after a relog.

Notes

Attachments get new UUIDs every time they are reattached; therefore, derendering an attachment will only be effective until the wearer detaches the item.

  • fs_derender.txt
  • Last modified: 2018/05/25 19:39
  • by miro.collas