User Tools

Site Tools


fs_groups_fr
Advertisement

Managing Groups

Individual groups are managed via the Groups Panel. This can be accessed in various ways:

  • By using the People Icon on the bottom button bar;
  • By opening it from the Conversations window, Contacts → Groups tab;
  • from the list of groups in a profile

Multiple group panels may be opened.

The Groups Panel has four tabs; these will be discussed in the sections below.

General

Groups - General

This first tab has general information about the group.

  • Group Key: this shows the group's UUID - Universally unique identifier. To the right of this is a button, Copy URI, which copies the group's URI to your clipboard. A URI resembles a SURL, and may be used to send a link to others to suggest they join a group, for example. A URI resembles this:
    secondlife:///app/group/3a1be8d4-01f3-bc1a-2703-442f0cc8f2dd/about
  • Founded by: shows the name of the person who created the group. Note that the group found might possibly no longer be the owner, or even a member of the group.
  • Icon and Charter: To the right of the group logo/icon is the group charter. This is generally used to explain, briefly, what the group is about, and give the group rules.
  • Membership List: the central portion of this tab contains the list of group members. The list has 3 columns, Member, Title (or group tag) and Status (which shows the date of last login). The list may be sorted by clicked the column titles. 24)
  • My group settings: Below the list of members, to the left, are your personal settings for this group (assuming you are a member of it. You may show the group in your profile, and opt to receive notices sent to the group or not. Below this is a drop-down from you you may select your group title. The options here will depend on what role you have in the group. In most cases, there will be only one selection available.
  • Group Setup: This section is only available if your group role allows you to make changes here. If so, you acn flag the group to be listed in search, indicate whether the group is open enrolement or not, and whether there is a cost to join. The drop-down menu below this permits the group to be classified as “general” or “mature”.

At the bottom of the tab are 3 buttons, as follows:

  • Chat: Opens the group chat window.
  • Group Call: Initiate a group voice conference call.
  • Save: Saves any changes made. This is disabled if you didn't change anything.

Members & Roles

Groups - Members and Roles

This tab gives access to the membership list and group roles. It is in turn divided into three tabs.

Members

The first section shows the list of group members 25). It is divided into 3 columns: name, donation and status. The donation column indicates whether the member has donated land to the group, and if so, the parcel size in sqm. Status shows the date of last login, or whether currently online. The list may be sorted by clicking any of the column headers.

If you click on a name, the middle and lower sections of the tab populate. More on those briefly.

Below the member list are two buttons, which will be activated only if your group role permits.

  • Invite: Click this is you wish to invite someone to the group. A selector window opens; click on Open Resident Chooser, type in all or part of the person's name, then click Go. Select from the results and click Select. Then select the role to which you wish to assign the person, and finally Send Invitations.
  • Eject: If you click this button, you will be able to eject the select person from the group (assuming you have the ability to do so). The person will be notified, as will group owners.

The middle section of this tab lists the available group roles. The roles assigned to the currently selected group member will have a check mark. If you have the ability, you can change the role(s) for the person here, then save changes with the button at the bottom.

The bottom section allows you to override specific role settings for the selected group member - again, assuming your own group role allows it.

Roles

In this tab, you can view - and if your own role allows, modify - the group roles (titles) and associated abilities. The top section lists the role names, the title to be displayed as a tag and the count of members in that roles. This list may be sorted by clicking any column titles.

Below this are two buttons:

  • New Role: Allows a new role to be created. Note that a group can have at most 10 roles, including the two predefined ones, Owner and Everyone, which cannot be deleted or renamed.
  • Delete Role: Deletes the role selected in the list above.

Following this is a section where the details of the currently selected role can be edited: the name of the role, the title (which is shown as an avatar tag), an optional description of the role, and a check box, Reveal members; if enabled, then people in this role will be visible on the groups membership list to anyone viewing the group profile, including non-members.

Underneath this section is a list of avatars who are assigned to the currently selected role.

And lastly, there is the list of abilities associated with the role. Enable or disable as appropriate for the role.

Abilities

This third tab gives an overview of the previous two, from the perspective of abilities.

The top section lists all group abilities. Select one, and the sections below will list which group roles, and which group members, have the corresponding ability.

Notices

Groups - Notices

The upper section of this tab displays recent notices sent to the group. The list is arranged in columns. The first indicates whether the notice has an attachment, and what kind. Then comes the notice title, followed by the sender and date sent. The list may be sorted by clicking any of the column titles.

The lower part of the tab allows a new notice to be created, if your group role has the ability to send notices. Click the + New Notice button to create a new one. (The circular arrow to the right refreshes the list of notices above.)

When creating a new notice, type in the notice title. This should be short but descriptive. This is followed by the body of the notice itself, which is limited to 512 characters.

If you wish to attach a landmark, object or notecard, you may drag it into the space provided, or click the Inventory button; select the item to attach from the picker window that opens. If you change your mind about the attachment (eg, you selected the wrong one), click the small trashcan icon.

To send the notice, click the Send button. To cancel it, simply click anything else.

Land & L$

[ TBD ]

24) If you are not a member of the group, then the membership list may be incomplete, showing only the names of the group owner(s). The owners can control whether group members are visible to people who are not part of the group.
25) Note that for large groups, the list can take some time to fully populate; some functions will not be available until it is completely loaded.
fs_groups_fr.txt · Last modified: 2011/07/18 09:52 by sunset_faulkes