User Tools

Site Tools


phoenix:clearing_settings
Advertisement

How to clear your settings

Why? Because here be dragons. And sometimes clearing your settings may be the best way to fix a weird problem. Keep in mind that settings are not cleared by uninstalling or installing new viewers

If clearing settings solves your problem, then you might want to create a backup of your settings once you have restored them as you like them - and assuming that everything works. Click here for instructions.

In Viewer Method

Edit - Preferences - General Tab - Reset All Settings (located at the bottom)

This can be done both on the Login Page and within the viewer after logging in.

NOTE: This does not wipe all settings; per-account settings are not reset. So it may not be effective enough to solve issues you might have. The method below is more complete.

From the File System

This is a bit more complex but it ensures that everything is wiped.

Log out of Phoenix. Then navigate to the folder that stores the application data for second life - if you do not see this folder, you may need to show hidden folders.

  • On XP: C:\Documents and Settings\[YOUR USERNAME]\Application Data\SecondLife
    or use the environment variable %APPDATA%)
  • On Windows Vista and 7: C:\Users\[USERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\SecondLife
    (or use the environment variable %APPDATA%)
  • On a Mac: /Users/[YOUR USERNAME]/Library/Application Support/SecondLife
  • On Linux: ~/.secondlife/
  1. Find the folder named “user_settings” and navigate inside it
  2. delete everything
  3. now locate the folders which have the names of your avatar(s)
  4. in each of these folders, locate the file settings_per_account.xml and delete it

NOTE: For Firestorm, refer to this page.

phoenix/clearing_settings.txt · Last modified: 2013/06/07 06:24 by miro.collas