User Tools

Site Tools


toolbox_general_tab_more
Advertisement

Toolbox Window - Edit/Build Mode - General Tab

Edit Window - General Tab

This page covers the General tab of the toolbox window in Edit and Build modes. This tab is shown in the image to the right. The upper section of this window is described here.

In Build mode, most of the fields will be greyed out, as not applicable. Similarly, in Edit mode, some fields will be unavailable if the object is not modifyable.

NOTE: The term “Object” is used to refer to a single unlinked prim, or to a linked set of prims.
Everything below applies to objects, or individual prims selected from a linked set using Edit Linked.
Note that the overall properties of a linked set are the same as the properties of the root prim.

The first portion of this tab contains basic information about the object:

  • Name: This will hold the name of the object. The name is limited to 63 characters.
  • Description: An optional description of the objects, maximum 127 characters.
  • Creator: Name of the avatar who created this object. This can never be changed.
  • Owner: Shows the name of the current owner of the object. If the objected is group owned (see below), this will show the group that owns it.
  • Last Owner: Name of the avatar that owned the object when it was previously rezzed in-world. In other words, if you buy an object, rez it out, take it, then re-rez it, this will show your name.
  • Group: The name of the group to which the object is set. 71)
    • Share: If you enable this, you are granting other group members the ability to manipulate the object: move, rotate, etc.
    • Deed: If you click this, the object will be deeded (donated) to the group it is set to. 72)
  • Click to: Here you can set the action that will occur when the object is left clicked. By default, this is Touch, but it can be any one of: Touch, Sit on, Buy, Pay, Open, Zoom. 73)
  • For Sale: Click this if you wish to set the object for sale. The other fields in this section then become applicable.
    Note that this describes the new Firestorm behavior incorporating seller protection; if you wish to revert to the older method, enable Preferences → Firestorm → Build 2 → Use old “Set Object For Sale” behavior.)
    • Drop Down: Here you select exactly what you are selling: a copy of the object (only possible if the object is copyable for you), the contents of the object (rather than the object itself), or the original object (the owner will need to take it once bought).
    • Price: Specify the price of the item.
    • Apply: when you are happy with your choices, click this button and they will be applied. This gives you protection in that the item is not actually set for sale until this button is pressed, preventing others from perhaps purchasing a valuable item for the default 10L while you are still making changes.
  • Copy Keys: This copies the UUID(s) of the object to your clipboard. Clicking the button will copy the UUID of the root. Press and hold Shift while clicking to copy the UUIDs of all prims; this is a list of comma-separated UUIDs.
  • Show in Search: If you enable this, the object will be listed in SL search, and thus help others find it.
  • Permissions Permissions in SL are a somewhat complex topic. You are directed to the SL wiki on permissions for details.
    • Anyone:
      • Move: if this is enabled, anyone will be able to move the object.
      • Copy: if enable, anyone will be able to copy the object. This essentially makes it free to all. They can right click it and select Take Copy.
    • Next Owner: this sets the permissions the next owner of the object will have 74)
      • Modify: If enabled, the next owner will be able to modify the object.
      • Copy: If enabled, the next owner will be able to copy the object.
      • Transfer: If enabled, the next owner will be able to resell or give the object away.

And finally, the current pathfinding attributes are dissplayed at the bottom. These can only be changed via the Pathfinding Linksets window (top menu → Build → Pathfinding → Linksets)).

If you are making an object for resale, then never set the next owner permissions on the object in your inventory; instead, rez it out, set the permissions on the rezzed object, then take it back into your inventory. This because next owner permissions do not take effect until the object is actually rezzed out. This is known, and is a server-side effect. For more information, see the section on the “slam bit” on this page.



^ Main Page - Next Tab >



See this page for documentation on Firestorm 4.6.9 (42969) and earlier.

71) If you are renting land, the parcel may be set such that objects can only be rezzed by members of a specific group. In that case, you will need to activate that group (or take advantage of Preferences → Firestorm → Extras → Always rez objects under the land group if possible) before you rez an object. This will rez it with the correct group set. Also, on some parcels, objects which are not set to a given group are auto-returned after a specified period of time.
If you click the group name, you will be shown the group profile; if you click the wrench icon, you will get a selection box, from which you can pick another group.
72) Some objects on group-owned land must be deeded in order to function, such as radios and TVs. But in most cases this is not needed; use with caution as reclaiming a deeded object can be problematic, depending on your group role.
Deeding, however, has the advantage that it imposes role restrictions set by the group owner; share alone does not. Nonetheless, do not deed objects unless you have to.
73) The Pay option requires that a script be present in the object to handle the money event.
74) Note that objects must be either copyable or transferrable; you cannot disable both. However there are ways to effectively make an object both no copy and no transfer, but they are beyond the scope of this text.
toolbox_general_tab_more.txt · Last modified: 2015/05/04 02:17 by miro.collas